Cooking with Welfare Ingredients

April 18, 2008 at 12:52 pm (Recipes we've loved!) (, , )

WELFARE RECIPES

RICE AND BEAN BURRITOS

NEED:

1 cup cooked rice

1 can (425g) kidney beans (OR substitute 1 cup soaked dry beans)

1 pkt dry taco seasoning

1 onion diced (OR substitute ¼ cup dried onion flakes)

2-3 cloves garlic crushed and chopped finely (OR substitute 2 teaspoons from a jar)

1 can (400g) diced tomatoes (Can use fresh)

1 can cream of mushroom soup

Burrito wraps (OR make your own with ½ cup polenta meal, ½ cup plain flour, 2 eggs, and 1 & ½ cups milk, pinch salt…cook thin crepes in hot pan only on one side. Cool and use as directed)

¾ cup grated tasty cheese

DO:

In dash of oil gently fry onion, garlic.

Add cooked rice and beans, then taco seasoning.

Add tomatoes.

When blended, cool slightly.

Wrap each burrito with enough filling to not overflow.

Place in greased casserole dish.

Pour mushroom soup over, thinning with a little milk if necessary.

Sprinkle with cheese, cover.

Place in hot oven until cheese is bubbly and all ingredients are hot.

SERVE:

With a fresh salad and lashings of guacamole dip.

BRING HOME THE BACON!

NEED:

1 cup wheat soaked in thermos flask all day (or overnight)

250 grams bacon diced (OR substitute ham, spam, or other canned meat)

1 onion diced (or dried flakes)

1 pkg powdered chicken noodle soup mix

½ cabbage, shredded (hope you are growing your own!)

DO:

In hot pan sauté bacon and onion till cooked.

Add drained wheat, soup mix, and cabbage.

Stir fry until fragrant and serve immediately.

LEMON DUMPLINGS

NEED:

Dumplings:
1 & ½ cups SR flour
125 grams butter at room temp
zest 1 or 2 lemons
pinch salt
½ cup caster sugar
milk to mix

Sauce:
1 cup lemon juice
1 cup boiling water
1 cup sugar

DO:
Make dumplings by rubbing butter into all ingredients except milk.
Add milk and make stiff dough.
Form into small balls, (size of a large walnut)
Place in large ceramic dish.
Set aside.
Make sauce by stirring all ingredients together.
Pour over the top of dumplings and process in steam oven for 35 minutes.

NO STEAM OVEN? Place in normal oven at around 110 with a bain marie on the rack beneath. (Water bath)

SERVE:
Immediately with whipped cream, custard or ice cream.

9 Comments

  1. Carol Cameron said,

    Hi everyone, I must say I loved the Enrichment evening and the yummy food. Thanks. I decided I would try the Lemon Dumplings as I enjoyed them so much but I decided to adapt the recipe to suit my welfare ingredients. It’s worth a try for when you are actually down to the wheat storage! Next time I will use oil instead of butter and less lemon. If I had milk, which I didn’t, I think the result might have been even better, even so, it was yummy but thicker in texture and yellow in colour, than the dish the other night.
    I used enriched sprouted flour and wholewheat flour, butter and honey with water to mix in the same proportions more or less than in the original recipe. I used dried lemon zest and wished I’d halved the amount of lemon juice in the sauce which I made out of water, lemon and honey.
    To cook, I decided to revert to my mother’s method of steaming puddings so I placed the mixture in one whole into the bowl without forming dumplings then poured over the liquid, placed a bread and butter plate on top of the pyrex bowl and placed the whole lot in water on top of the stove in a large saucepan which I brought to the boil then simmered for about 35 minutes. I enjoyed the dessert with cream – I must admit I cheated on that one! I really think this recipe has a lot of merit and room for further adaptation with the inclusion of all sorts of dried fruit to get different tastes or even adding cocoa to get a rich chocolate self saucing steamed pudding. I was dying to add eggs but resisted. Carol

  2. Carol Cameron said,

    Just a suggestion when soaking the wheat for Bring Home The Bacon which was delicious – try cracking the wheat a little before soaking as this will increase the surface area, help with digestion and give a less chewy texture to the finished product. You can crack the wheat by placing in a nut grinder for a very short period or in a food processor or if you want to practice for later(?) place wheat in a bag/old pillowcase etc. and beat with a heavy object like a brick – that should do it as well as being very good therapy!

  3. Carol Cameron said,

    I’ve just got to tell you this. My eldest daughter has been researching what the Chinese used to eat in times of famine and came up with ‘Rice Congee’ being the dish of choice or in this case desperation. I don’t have the recipe (she found it on the internet) but she made some last night. The recipe was for 12 people and used 1 cup of rice and some dried fish. She added some chopped herbs and I can’t remember what else but basically she said she followed the recipe – if you’re interested further I could ask her to send it to me – and fed it to her large family last night. Reports from all was that they were filled and happy.

  4. Vanessa Harris said,

    Hi

    I’ve just read Carol’s tip about Congee and I would like to add that it is one of my favourites as well, though I don’t know to make it. It is a wonderful comfort food and so nutitious and cheap. You can try it out and see if you like it by doing to a Dim Sum Restaurant and trying the different ones they have available. They call it Congee Porridge. I do know that Joan MacLachlan knows how to make it because I remember her telling me that when she is sick. Perhaps we could ask her to demonstrate next welfare cooking session?

  5. Tina said,

    Hi Vanessa…looks like Joan is in for a treat then??? Hopefully we can persuade her. I have often seen rice congee on restaurant menus in Asia, but the explanations have put me off…maybe it’s time I tried it!

  6. Ruth Surachmat said,

    Hi there

    hope you dont mind a visitor from across the ditch. Just been trawling the internet for useful welfare/wartime recipes and came across your blog. Looks like you are getting some great welfare recipes together and having a lot of fun doing it. Well done!! I shall be checking out your blog from now on. lots of love

    Sister Surachmat

  7. TEEN said,

    You’re welcome Ruth and keep those good comments coming! (Where is ‘across the ditch’?)

  8. Ruth Surachmat said,

    Hi again,

    Across the ditch is Hamilton, New Zealand.

    Ruth

  9. TEEN said,

    Well. we prob’ly know heaps of the same people, my boys both went to CCNZ, as did my daughter…(Holder’s) as late as last year!

Leave a Reply

